Monroe County Sports

Gonzo Disc Golf

Websites by SiteSteward, Inc.

New Disc Golf Player

Anything disc golf related in the Greater Rochester NY area

New Disc Golf Player

Postby zacharyhoy » Thu Nov 7, 2013 12:07 am

Fellow Disc Golfers,
I went to my first club meeting tonight. I started playing this past July. I was asked what attracted me to the game and what helped me get more involved in disc golf. I thought about it and below are what I came up with:

-GRDGC is welcoming environment for new players no matter what level or putter to start with
-I was taught early on how to play by PDGA rules including mini marker, OBs, 10 meter circle, order off the tee, mandos, etc.
-leagues go to different types of courses: technical vs. distance
-was given some basic used discs to start with
-easy to access website with videos to highlight courses
-encouraged early to sign up for tournaments which improved my game

I am encouraged by learning how to get more involved and helping grow the sport.

Thanks.
zacharyhoy

Name: Zachary
PDGA #: 60602

Re: New Disc Golf Player

Postby absolut watkins » Thu Nov 7, 2013 8:33 am

We are happy to have ya hoss!
absolut watkins

Name: rick w
PDGA #:

Postby Skippy » Thu Nov 7, 2013 10:23 am

Glad you took the time to post this. We kinda threw us in the hot seat last night unexpectedly.
Skippy

Name: Clayton Woodard
PDGA #:

Postby TBayer » Thu Nov 7, 2013 3:07 pm

Greetings All,

I saw Zach's post and thought I would chime in.

I guess I qualify as a new guy as the first time I showed up was Saturday Winter League in March, 2013. For the first few winter league outings, I brought 3 discs; a 15 year old, Gazelle, a recently purchased Valkyrie and a 15 year old, Wham-O Frisbee, 86 Softie putter.

First-3-Discs.jpg
First 3 discs.

What attracted me as a new player was GRDGC doubles:
* I was warmly welcomed. No one made snide remarks to me for having 15-year-old discs or bringing just 3.