I think Derek is suggesting that the intermediate directions given at the player's meeting conflict with 803.09B
B. A player whose disc is considered out-of-bounds shall receive one penalty throw. The player may elect to play the next shot from:
(1) The previous lie as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved from an approximate lie, as agreed to by the majority of the group or an official; or (2) A lie that is up to one meter away from and perpendicular to the point where the disc last crossed into out-of-bounds, as determined by a majority of the group or an official. This holds true even if the direction takes the
lie closer to the hole; or (3) Within the designated Drop Zone, if provided. These options may be limited by the tournament director as a special condition (see 804.01).
So while the intermediate players were right to following them, the rule was broken and the round violates the rules and should not count.
Correct me if I'm misunderstanding you, Derek. Technically I think you are correct.